Thursday, 22 October 2015

ARC Review: Velvet Undercover by Terri Brown




Author: Teri Brown
Pages: 336
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Released: October 20th, 2015
Received from: publisher (before publication)
Status: Standalone

Synopsis (from Goodreads):

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray comes this page-turning historical spy thriller from Teri Brown, author of the Born of Illusion series.

Samantha Donaldson's family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, mathematics, and complex puzzles, hoping to make him proud.

When Sam is asked to join the famed women's spy group La Dame Blanche, she's torn—while this could be an unbelievable adventure, how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes she can't refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.

Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known only as Velvet. Deep undercover in the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Sam must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she must fight a forbidden attraction to the enemy—a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Sam find Velvet before it's too late . . . for them both?

A thrilling story of one girl's journey into a deadly world of spy craft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences.

***

Velvet Undercover is a wonderful spy story written by Teri Brown set in WW1. The story is intriguing and adventurous, and gave an insight in being a female spy undercover in 1914.

Sam Donaldson's family has been proudly serving their country for as long as she can remember, but when the time comes for her to be selected and inducted into a secret spy organization, she is hesitant. Fuelled by her own curiosity and sense of duty, she finds herself  behind enemy lines, and slowly learning that all that she was trained to do from childhood wouldn't prepare her- or her heart- for what was to come.

I thoroughly enjoyed the book- spy adventures are some of my favourite books to read. Reading this book reminded me a lot of the Gallagher Girls series, just condensed and set in WW1. But what sets this book apart was the fact that our narrator, who, despite the fact was trained in cryptology, maths, and languages at a child, is thrown into a world she only imagined, because she lived such a normal life. 

I liked the mystery, the intrigue, and the adventure was great. I usually read spy stories set in WW2, but having one set in the first one shows how evolved espionage became in between the wars.

Anyways, I highly recommend this book- especially to fans of Ally Carter, Libba Bray and Jennifer Donnelly!



1 comment:

  1. This one was so good! I really enjoy spy stories (and I LOVE all of Ally Carter's books!) but was a little hesitant because I often don't care for historical fiction, but I really liked Velvet Undercover!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...