Monday, 18 May 2015

Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall






Author: Maggie Hall
Pages: 336 
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Release Date: January 13, 2015
Status: The Conspiracy of Us #1



Synopsis (from Goodreads):


A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West's newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family--but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she's falling in love with. 

***

The story revolves around Avery, a normal girl with violet eyes and a pretty quiet life. She moves around frequently with her mother, Carol, and tries to live her life to The Plan- a secret agenda she's made for herself so she won't get hurt from any more severed relationships. Her normal existence is cut short when she decides to go to prom after leaning from her mother she'd be moving again- to Paris. There she seeks out the handsome Jack... And ends up halfway around the world with Stellan. Soon, she finds herself immersed in an ancient group with extensive power around the world, that may end up destroying all of society.

While the story's premise was really interesting, the majority of the book wasn't. I mean, it wasn't a terrible book (I finished it, enjoyed it, and am actually planning to read the sequel), but it was pretty plain for the most part.

The genre of the book is my type, but the problem was (for me personally), is the fact that she wasn't [Avery] a particularly strong character because she was kept in the dark for a long time. When I read books in this genre, I'm used to characters being familiar with their surroundings and extremely dangerous situations because they were born into it. However, in Avery's case, she wasn't, so I tried to be mindful of that fact- but I couldn't do it.

Poor Avery was kept in the dark for so long, I felt bad for her. But when she did learn more about her situation and the Circle, she started to fight back and resist authority. She even proves that she's cunning. I feel like in the sequel, Map of Fates (the title and the placement cover are on Goodreads, but not the synopsis), I'll like her even more, as she shows potential for being a badass.

But like our MC, the whole plot was a little hard to get used to at the beginning. See, the reason why MC's that aren't familiar with the world aren't my favourite is because they don't know what's going on. And since they don't know what's going on, they have to learn everything. As readers, we experience this tumilous journey alongside with them because they don't know what's going on as well. And while it was easy to figure out most things about the story, there were a lot of terms that I was confused about because  everything was so jumbled in the beginning. But later, it did make sense when Luc and Charlie explain things to her.

Overall, it was an okay book. Did I enjoy it? Yes. Is it a series that I continue with? Most likely. However, despite my own initial rough start with the book, I do recommend it for fans of Ally Carter!





No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...