Saturday, 16 June 2018

RELEASE DAY: My Lullaby of You



I am so excited that MY LULLABY OF YOU by Alia Rose is available now and that I get to share the news!
If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author Alia Rose, be sure to check out all the details below.
This blitz also includes a giveaway for signed finished paperback copy of MY LULLABY OF YOU a bookmark, a bookish beach towel, a beach inspired candle and annotation cards, US Only, courtesy of Alia and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

About the Book:


Title: MY LULLABY OF YOU
Author: Alia Rose
Pub. Date: June 16, 2018
Publisher: Plum Anchor Press
Formats: Paperback, eBook
Pages: 287
Find it: GoodreadsAmazon

For fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, My Lullaby of You is a Young Adult Contemporary Romance about guarded love, complicated families, and the summer that changes everything. 

AMY
It’s the summer after high school. Amy can’t wait to leave her small hometown in North Carolina for the vibrant city of Chicago, where she plans to go to her dream college and hopes to build a stronger relationship with her father.

But as she deals with her mother’s resentment over her leaving and an intriguing yet provoking college student, Amy’s reminded of things she’s tried to forget and forced to face emotions she never expected.

SETH
It’s the summer before the last year of music school. Seth would rather be anywhere else than a small beach town in North Carolina, reopening wounds he thought he’d patched long ago and facing the father he hasn’t seen since his mother’s death.

While on his mission for answers, Seth is drawn to an observant and driven local he can’t seem to figure out.


About Alia:

I've been writing since I fell in love with reading and now the characters in my head refuse to leave me alone. My debut novel, My Lullaby of You comes out in June 2018!

When I'm not writing, I work full time as an architectural designer and enjoy drinking too much coffee, making to-do lists, and traveling.

You can find me rambling about all of the above on Instagram and Twitter.


Tuesday, 17 April 2018

Book Birthday + ARC Review: Sister of Mine

Title: Sister of Mine

Author: Laurie Petrou

Release Date: April 17th, 2018

Publisher: HarperCollins Canada

Pages: 272 

Rating: 5/5 for all the feels


Synopsis: 

When is a debt ever fully paid?

Penny and Hattie are sisters in a small town, bound tight to the point of knots. They share a secret they cannot escape, even while it pulls them apart. One night, a match is lit, and Penny’s terrible husband is killed – a marriage going up in flames, and offering the potential of a new life. The sisters retreat into their family home – a house of secrets and memories – and try to live in the shadow of what they put in motion. But Penny’s husband is not the only thing they are hiding, from the outside world and from each other. Under a cloud of long-held resentments, sibling rivalry, and debts unpaid, the bonds of sisterhood begin to crack. How long will Penny and Hattie demand the unthinkable of each other? How often will they say, “You owe me,” and when will it ever be enough? 

***
With just a glance at the cover: from the title to the overcast sky to the burnt out match- you can tell that this novel is going to draw you into a world full of mystery and secrecy, even without reading the synopsis. And it did.

Sister of Mine was a novel that explores the relationship of Penny and Hattie before and after Penny's husband is killed. We learn about the sisters' childhood, and the events in their life that lead up to the death of Penny's husband, up until the end where their deeds finally catch up with them and turn into consequences.

What makes Sister of Mine a wonderful novel is Petrou's ability to tell a story. She captivates you right from the beginning, and is able to make you imagine the lives of Penny and Hattie in St. Margarets.

The story has a lot of highs and lows, and makes you re-evaluate your own relationship with your own siblings (if you have them), or the people around you in general, and it forces you to look at their dedication and love at a new perspective.

Overall, it was a wonderful story, and one that I thoroughly enjoyed. While it seems like your typical "whodunnit?" at first glance, it's more of a story about what happens next, and looking forward while mending your own mistakes from the past.

Sister of Mine is out TODAY, and you can grab it from Chapters, Amazon.ca or iBooks. Happy Reading!

Tuesday, 10 April 2018

Review: 1984 by George Orwell


Title: 1984 
Author: George Orwell
Release Date: June 8th, 1949
Publisher: Arcturus Publishing Limited
Pages: 317 
Rating: 5/5



Synopsis:

Winston Smith is a low-rung member of the Party, the ruling government of Oceania. He works in the Ministry of Truth, the Party's propoganda arm, where he is in charge of revising history. He is but a small brick in the pyramid that is the Party, at the head of which stands Big Brother. Big Brother the infallible. Big Brother the all-powerful. In a totalitarian society, where individuality is suppressed and freedom of thought has its antithesis in the Thought Police, Winston finds respite in the company of Julia. Originality of thought awakens, love bloosoms and hope is rekindled. But what they don't know is that Big Brother is always watching... 

***
1984 is one of those novels that many of us were forced to read during high school, but for me, it was one of the novels that actually stuck with me, and ironically enough, one I didn't read, but ended up doing so. I found that during my my high school life, most of the books we were told to read were very dystopian or sci-fi-eqsue. With the exception of 9th grade (we read the Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, a novel I once dreaded but now as a 20 year old trying to figure out life, I can appreciate it more), I remember reading the Chrysalids with vivid detail, and remember it numbing my brain (that novel was very word heavy for me). However, during deconstruction, I learned a lot of what the author was trying to convey and it really immered me into that world. 

My librarian in high school actually recommended 1984 to me, and I remember not wanting to pick it up because 1) I knew people from other schools were reading it and 2) if it was anything like the Chrysalids, I didn't want to have anything to do with the novel. In the end, curiosity got the best of me, and 1984 became one of my favourite books-- I know, sounds cliché, but I really did enjoy it, despite it scaring me.

Unlike the Chrysalids, which took place in Canada after a nuclear war and everyone in society regressed back to the 1600-1700s,  1984 takes place in a world where the parallels are identifiable: a society where an ominous yet well-known leader watches everyone, no one can be trusted, the government works for the "better of society" but in reality,  for the government and themselves, and the truth has been written, and the basis of civil society has disappeared. It's a world that we can imagine now due to the growth of the dystopian genre within literature and other forms of media, but taking in that this novel was written in the 40s, and at the end of WWII and the beginning of the Cold War, is impressive- and terrifying at the same time, considering this is what Orwell came up with...

What makes 1984 a wonderful novel is not only it's story, but the lessons you learn. What the story really reinforces is the scary reality that society can crumble, truth can be erased, in addition to our civil rights. If anything for me, what resonates at the moment (especially in our current culture) is the eradication of truth, and the consequences of thinking freely. While I was reading this novel, it really hit me how fortunate we all are to be able to be able to speak freely and think freely as well.

It's a novel that resonance, even after all this time, and really makes you appreciate all the things that you have.

Wednesday, 21 March 2018

Vampire Academy Special Edition + Other Thoughts

It's been a long time coming... but here I am...

I haven't posted in awhile, but it's a new year, and in all honesty, I miss blogging and talking to you guys! I recently read this article called: I have forgotten how to read  (I really suggest you read it- it's a really good article). I found it really interesting, as the person that penned the article is a writer himself, and he talks about how no one really talks about how we struggle to read.

I have forgotten how to read and have had a hard time admitting it. Ever since I entered university, I've been so used to doing things on my phone and reading stuff off my laptop out of convenience and efficiency, that I've had a hard time actually sitting down and reading a book for my own enjoyment. My attention span is everywhere, and concentrating has actually been very hard for me. I can force myself to read a physical textbook when I need to, but I find myself taking forever to read a book that I could've devoured in hours. I'd make excuses not to read, but I realized during a moment of self reflection, reading would be good for me: it was something that brought me joy in the past, and I just have to relearn how to sit down and take my time.

Like I said, it's a new year, and there are so many good books to read! I got a couple to review soon, and I'm excited to recommend them to you all! To see what's on my shelf, check it out here: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2302351-allison-grace

However, as you can see in the title, I mentioned Vampire Academy. My old readers will know that for me, Vampire Academy started EVERYTHING. While I give Twilight the credit to getting me to read books, it was Vampire Academy that started my jump into the YA book world.

Some of you may know, but if you don't, the Vampire Academy released in 2007 (11 years ago this year-- crazy right?), but the 10th anniversary edition actually released in 2016... and I finally go to reading it.

I'm not going to review the entire book again, but there ARE short stories within it that made me fall in love with the characters all over again!



Title: Vampire Academy (the 10th Anniversary Edition)

Author: Richelle Mead

Release Date: November 29th, 2016

Publisher: Penguin Books

Pages: 332

Rating: 5/5 



Synopsis: 

Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies . . . 

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth's magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires - the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa's best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir's Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger . . . and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever . . 


***
Alright so in the 10th anniversary edition, there are four additional short stories from the perspective of other characters PRIOR to the beginning of the series, with one short story in Rose's POV in between Vampire Academy (#1) and Frostbite (#2).

The Turn and the Flame tells the story of how Christian's parents turned and is told in the POV of Tasha Ozera. At the end of the VA series, I was not a huge fan of her, but this short story really did soften my heart for her. We get to see Tasha pre-scars, and get a better indication of why she is the way she is. Despite my frustrations over her character later on, I feel for her in this one. And what makes this little story really good? Novice Dimitri, that's what.

From the Journal of Vasilisa Dragomir is a short story in diary form from the POV of Lissa, starting from a month after her parents and brother have died and she bonded with Rose, up until where she and Rose move to Portland. It's really nice to see her thought process, and nice to see Rose in Lissa's eyes.

The Meeting is the first chapter of Vampire Academy told through Dimitri's eyes. This one is a good one, but I've read it before-- if I recall correctly, she released it after the YA Crush Tourney or something... it was a prize for something. Although I love Dimitri, this one was very underwhelming. I mean, I like knowing what he thinks of Rose, but it pales in comparison to...

Hello My Name Is Rose Hathaway: As much as I like reading the other character's POV, there is NOTHING better than jumping back into Rose's head. She is, hands down, my favourite YA heroine, and it was very nostalgic going back to reading from her POV. Her short story takes place in the VA world, between Vampire Academy and Frostbite, and is a cute story of her and the gang (plus some Dimitri) doing their thing and having a bit of fun during the school year- something we don't see in the actual series because they're going through life.. vampire life. This was my favourite one. 

Overall, Vampire Academy is a wonderful book, and I ALWAYS recommend this YA series to everyone that asks me if I have any recommendations! What I love about the books, especially now that it's been 11 years since it's been released, is the fact it is (in some way) timeless. The characters in this novel, while yes, vampires, have to deal with the coming of age like the rest of us, and have to learn how to fight for their rights and their voice as they transition from being a teenager to a young adult. Of course, it's a bit more dramatic because they're vampires, but regardless, it deals with a lot of subject matter we all deal with in our mid/late teens and early twenties in a refined and not cheesy way.

Friday, 13 January 2017

Exciting News!

Hey everyone, if you don't already know, I have a personal website called inlovelygrace, which is oriented around my life as a media student, my personal projects, and recommendations that aren't book related (eg. beauty, lifestyle and tv reviews). I've tried my best to keep both blog separate because it's just easier for me to focus on books here, and everything... else there!

But, I wanted to share the exciting news here with all of you as well!

If you don't already know, I am a Babas and Zacari brand ambassador! Barbas and Zacari is a leather watch and sunglasses company based in Australia, and they've reached out to me to help them with their campaign. If you buy a product from them, they donate $5 AUD to the Australian Cancer Research Foundation. 

I am so honoured to be chosen from Tas and all the Barbas and Zacari family to become an ambassador, I just wanted to let you all know and set you up with a code for 15% off: ALLISONTUBOSA.

So if you wanna get yourself a present, or a special someone a present, check them out here: barbasandzacari.com

CODE: ALLISONTUBOSA for 15% off!

Monday, 2 January 2017

New Year, New News

Hey everyone! Wow, it has been a long time since I've blogged on Sleepless Reads that I am taken aback by the new blogger format... I gotta say I like it. 

Anyways, my reviews will be coming (I always say that, but it is!)- I recorded a review on my laptop, and here's a screenshot from it:


I recorded this review for the House Between Tides with my laptop (hence the terrible quality), and DEAR LORD I AM SO AWKWARD IN FRONT OF THE CAMERA. I recorded this review before school started, and I was in the middle of moving, and it took me forever to edit because I just had so many awkward pauses and veered off script SO MANY TIMES.

BUT, I think I will be doing more video reviews because I got a new camera:


Meet my new baby- it's so beautiful!

Anyways, I have a bunch of reviews set for: Bright Smoke, Cold Fire, The Swan Riders, The Diabolic, and Scribe of Sienna. 

So they're coming-- don't worry! I'll do a Beyonce and surprise you all ;)

Have a nice day!

Tuesday, 15 November 2016

New Release

Hey everyone! If you haven't heard it yet, Ally Carter has a new novella about the Heist Society Crew called The Grift of the Magi, out today!

The novella is now available in the US and here in Canada, and the UK and Australia should be able to read it very soon!

It's an ebook format, is about 105 pages, and can be found on Amazon, iTunes, Chapters Indigo and Kobo.

Synopsis (From Goodreads):

Katarina Bishop is a thief. To many it wouldn’t matter that she now uses her considerable skills to re-steal valuable works of art and return them to their rightful homes. 

She’s still a thief. 

So that’s why Kat’s surprised when an Interpol agent comes to her one snowy evening, asking for Kat’s help. 

The Magi Miracle Network was set to auction off a very rare, very valuable Faberge egg two days before Christmas, but the egg’s been stolen and now the charity’s reputation—and their future—is on the line. 
Kat’s family and Interpol might be opposite sides of most jobs, but someone just stole Christmas. 

Now it’s up to Kat and her crew to steal it back. 

The Grift of the Magi is a Heist Society novella and is approximately half the length of the other novels in the series. It stands alone, but if you want read more about Kat and her crew check out Heist Society, Uncommon Criminals, and Perfect Scoundrels.


While I am swamped with work and an essay (due VERY SOON), I will be purchasing the novella this weekend, and my review for it will be up soon! I'm very excited for this new Heist novella, especially since we haven't had an Heist news in awhile. So this is a nice treat.

Monday, 6 June 2016

What I've Been Up To...

Let's Start of with a Hello... (it's me).

Hey everyone! It's been a real long time since I've blogged on my book blog, and I am really upset that I have been letting it go.

I have reviews lined up for WEEKS, considering I did keep up with reading while I was away. It's just a matter of going through my Goodreads account, figuring out which books I finished, and remembered what I loved, liked and disliked about each of them.

While I haven't blogged here in a long time, it doesn't mean I haven't given up on book blogging. In fact, book blogging is what got me into my university program in the first place, and because of my love books, reading and connecting with other readers, authors and publishers that I'm currently doing something that I absolutely love for the next four years (and subsequently, for the rest of my life)-- I will always be grateful for the blogger friends I've made, the author friends I've made and the cool people I've met while book blogging.

Although this sounds like a farewell post, it's not. I will be reviewing books for as long as I can, but at the moment I can't actually be posting as frequently-- unless I have it schedule and done beforehand.

This summer, I'm currently working (somewhat sprodic hours) at my part-time job, and doing a lot of unpaid internships for experience. I'm also collaborating with other students in my program for some awesome projects, as well as planning projects myself for the next couple months. Also, I'm trying to enjoy the next four months before I go back to school in September, as this may be the last summer I have off (officially. I figured out my credits situation and how I'm going to graduate in four years with my minor included. And it's going to be REALLY busy).

Why I've been such a ghost lately.

Like I said above, I haven't been blogging in awhile due to school, work, internships, projects and just enjoying my summer in general.

If you're wondering what type of program I'm in, I can tell you it's not a film program nor is it related to anything in the book publishing industry.

I'm currently studying Media Production at Ryerson University. I essentially learn everything in the broadcasting/film industry: from learning how to operate equipment to creating, producing and creating content; from doing graphic design to public relations. I do it all, and I love it, and it's made me busier than before.

A lot of what I do is unpaid at the moment, so when I'm not actually doing something for me, I'm working part-time to pay for school, bills and transportation expenses.

If you wanna see more of what I do, visit my portfolio site: http://pasunreve.wordpress.com
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...